Search
Close this search box.

Healthcare professionals : Test your Knowledge on Cow’s Milk Allergy

allergie lait pro santé

Is your milk allergy knowledge up to date? Here are 5 questions designed to help make sure they remain so.

  1. One can easily distinguish the “common” digestive discomfort of the infant, digestive discomfort caused by food protein-induced allergic proctocolitis (FPIAP), caused by cow’s milk proteins. TRUE or FALSE

FALSE – When considering digestive discomfort in isolation, it can be difficult to distinguish those related to FPIAP from those commonly experienced in healthy infants. By providing a general picture of the situation, the distinction will become more obvious. First of all, it is important to remember that several elements can contribute to so-called “common” discomfort in infants: an immature digestive system, excess swallowed air, gas, etc. Sometimes the parent interprets intense crying (colic) as a symptom of a food allergy. The health care professional who evaluates a patient and suspects a cow’s milk protein allergy should carefully consider the clinical history, keeping in mind that the digestive discomforts associated with FPIAP do not usually occur on their own. They are accompanied by other symptoms, such as intermittent blood in the stool.

  1. A non-IgE-induced cow’s milk protein allergy can create symptoms similar to those of gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), without any other digestive symptoms. TRUE or FALSE?

TRUE: However, this situation is quite rare. Non-IgE-induced reactions, caused by cow’s milk proteins, manifest as regurgitation and vomiting, which are usually associated with digestive symptoms such as diarrhea, rectal bleeding, mucoid stools and abdominal discomfort. In addition, it is important to distinguish between gastroesophageal reflux and gastroesophageal reflux disease. Recall that 20% of healthy, one-month-old infants regurgitate or vomit after most feedings, while the statistic doubles in infants aged three to four months (41%). GERD occurs when gastroesophageal reflux causes complications or symptoms that interfere with daily functioning. The Canadian Paediatric Society (CPS) suggests paying attention to the positioning of the child during feedings, considering the integration of thickened foods (thickened breast milk in breastfed infants or thickened commercial infant formula) and the removal of cow’s milk protein as non-pharmacological treatments to be considered when GERD is suspected in a healthy infant. The CPS explains that, “avoiding cow’s milk does not treat GERD, although a subset of children who have cow’s milk protein allergy may experience symptoms similar to GERD and could benefit from this approach”.

  1. All commercial infant formulas based on extensively hydrolyzed protein or amino acids are equivalent from one brand to another. TRUE or FALSE

TRUE and FALSE: It is true that all extensively hydrolyzed protein or amino acid-based infant formulas are designed to meet the known nutritional needs of a healthy, term infant. They are suitable substitutes for cow’s milk-based formulas containing whole proteins. Remember that extensively hydrolyzed protein formulas, which do not contain any peptides with a molecular weight of more than 5000 Daltons, are well tolerated by more than 90% of children diagnosed with cow’s milk protein allergy. However, some infants will need to opt for amino acid-based formulas. As formulas can vary from brand to brand in terms of cost, available size, ingredients, nutritional value and taste, it is essential to discuss with the parents of the allergic child to provide them with a prescription that will meet their needs.  

  1. As part of a breastfeeding mother’s avoidance diet, traces of milk should be removed immediately when the infant is diagnosed with non-IgE-induced cow’s milk protein allergy. TRUE or FALSE

FALSE: During an avoidance diet for a breastfeeding mother with an infant who is allergic to cow’s milk protein (allergy not induced by IgE), the first step is usually to remove the “concentrated sources” of milk from the breastfeeding mother’s diet for 2 to 4 weeks. If there is no change or if a partial improvement is noted, the health professional may suggest the removal of soy protein, in addition to milk protein, or the removal of traces of milk and soy from the mother’s diet. In many infants, withdrawal from “concentrated sources” of milk* may be sufficient to notice an improvement in symptoms. To confirm the diagnosis, the health professional may also recommend the reinstatement of allergens removed from the mother’s diet.

* When withdrawing milk, it is suggested to avoid replacing all usual dairy products with soy products, as the infant may be reacting to a sudden increase in soy consumption.

                                                                                             

  1. Although little data exists on the subject, probiotics may be beneficial for children with cow’s milk protein allergy. TRUE or FALSE

TRUE: In its most recent position statement, the Canadian Paediatric Society informs us that there is currently insufficient data to recommend the use of probiotics in children with cow’s milk protein allergy. However, some studies would show a potential benefit to their use. For example, two randomized controlled studies1,2 and one meta-analysis3 demonstrated that young children who received formulas containing L. rhamnosus GG became tolerant to cow’s milk protein faster than those who consumed a formula without supplements. A discussion with the health care professional will allow the parents of the young child allergic to cow’s milk protein to make an informed decision about the suitability of probiotics in their particular case.

[1] Anderegg, W. R. L., Abatzoglou, J. T., Anderegg, L. D. L., Bielory, L., Kinney, P. L. et Ziska, L. (2021). Anthropogenic climate change is worsening North American pollen seasons. PNAS, 118, 7, e2013284118. https://www.pnas.org/doi/10.1073/pnas.2013284118

 

[2] Beggs, P. J. et Walczyk, N. E. (2008) Impacts of climate change on plant food allergens: A previously unrecognized threat to human health. Air Qual Atmos Health 1, 119–123. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11869-008-0013-z

 

[3] Ray, C. et Ming, X. (2020). Climate change and human health: A review of allergies, autoimmunity and the microbiome. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 17, 13, 4814. https://www.mdpi.com/1660-4601/17/13/4814

 

[4] American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. (2020, 28 septembre). Does climate change impact allergic disease? https://www.aaaai.org/Tools-for-the-Public/Conditions-Library/Allergies/Does-Climate-Change-Impact-Allergic-Disease

 

[6] Mohan, J. E., Ziska, L. H., Schlesinger, W. H., Thomas, R. B., Sicher, R. C., George, K. et Clark, J. S. Biomass and toxicity responses of poison ivy (Toxicodendron radicans) to elevated atmospheric CO2. PNAS, 103, 24, 9086-9. https://www.pnas.org/doi/epdf/10.1073/pnas.0602392103

 

[7] Bowatte, G., Lodge, C., Lowe A. J., Erbas, B., Perret, J., Abramson, M. J., Matheson, M. et Dharmage, S. C. The influence of childhood traffic-related air pollution exposure on asthma, allergy and sensitization: A systematic review and a meta-analysis of birth cohort studies. Allergy, 70, 3, 245-56. https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/all.12561

 

[8] Sbihi, H., Allen, R. W., Becker, A., Brook, J. R., Mandhane, P., Scott, J. A., Sears, M. R., Subbarao, P., Takaro, T. K., Turvey, S. E et Brauer, M. (2015). Perinatal Exposure to Traffic-Related Air Pollution and Atopy at 1 Year of Age in a Multi-Center Canadian Birth Cohort Study. Environmental Health Perspectives, 123, 9, 902-8. https://ehp.niehs.nih.gov/doi/10.1289/ehp.1408700

Rechercher

Professionnels de la santé : Testez vos connaissances sur l’allergie au lait!

allergie lait pro santé

Vous voulez savoir si vos connaissances sur l’allergie au lait sont à niveau? Voici 5 questions préparées pour les pousser un peu plus loin!

1. On peut facilement distinguer les inconforts digestifs « courants » du nourrisson, des inconforts digestifs causés par la proctocolite allergique induite par les protéines alimentaires (PAIPA), causée par les protéines du lait de vache. VRAI ou FAUX

FAUX – En considérant les inconforts digestifs de manière isolée, il peut être difficile de distinguer ceux reliés à la PAIPA de ceux couramment vécus chez le nourrisson en santé. En dressant un portrait général de la situation, la distinction deviendra plus manifeste. Tout d’abord, il est important de se rappeler que plusieurs éléments peuvent contribuer aux inconforts dits « courants » chez le nourrisson : un système digestif immature, un surplus d’air avalé, des gaz, etc. Il arrive parfois également que le parent interprète les pleurs intenses (coliques) comme un symptôme d’allergie alimentaire. Le professionnel de la santé qui évalue un patient et suspecte une allergie aux protéines du lait de vache doit bien se pencher sur l’histoire clinique, en gardant en tête que les inconforts digestifs associés à une PAIPA ne se présentent généralement pas seuls. Ils sont accompagnés d’autres symptômes, comme la présence intermittente de sang dans les selles.

2. Une allergie aux protéines du lait de vache non induite par les IgE peut créer des symptômes semblables à ceux du reflux gastro-œsophagien pathologique (RGOP), sans aucun autre symptôme digestif. VRAI ou FAUX ?

VRAI : Cette situation est toutefois assez rare. Les réactions non induites par les IgE, causées par les protéines du lait de vache, se manifestent par des régurgitations et des vomissements, qui sont habituellement associés à des symptômes digestifs tels que la diarrhée, une rectorragie, des selles mucoïdes et de l’inconfort abdominal. De plus, il est important de faire la distinction entre le reflux gastro-œsophagien et le reflux gastro-œsophagien pathologique. Rappelons que 20 % des nourrissons en santé et âgés d’un mois régurgitent ou vomissent après la plupart des boires, alors que la statistique double chez les nourrissons âgés de trois à quatre mois (41 %). Le RGOP se produit lorsque le reflux gastro-œsophagien entraîne des complications ou occasionne des symptômes qui nuisent au fonctionnement quotidien. La Société canadienne de pédiatrie (SCP) propose de porter attention au positionnement de l’enfant lors des boires, de considérer l’intégration des aliments épaissis (lait maternel épaissi chez le nourrisson allaité ou préparation commerciale pour nourrisson épaissie) et le retrait des protéines de lait de vache comme traitements non pharmacologiques à envisager lorsque l’on soupçonne un RGOP chez un nourrisson en santé. La SCP y explique que, « l’évitement du lait de vache ne règle pas le RGOP, quoiqu’un sous-groupe de nourrissons allergiques aux protéines du lait de vache puisse éprouver des symptômes semblables à ceux du RGOP et pourrait profiter de cette approche ».

3. Toutes les préparations commerciales pour nourrissons à base de protéines fortement hydrolysées ou à base d’acides aminés sont équivalentes d’une marque à l’autre. VRAI ou FAUX

VRAI et FAUX : Il est vrai que toutes les préparations pour nourrissons à base de protéines fortement hydrolysées ou à base d’acides aminés sont conçues pour répondre aux besoins nutritionnels connus d’un nourrisson né à terme et en santé. Elles constituent des substituts adéquats aux préparations à base de lait de vache contenant des protéines entières. Rappelons-nous que les préparations à base de protéines fortement hydrolysées, qui ne contiennent aucun peptide d’une masse moléculaire de plus de 5000 Dalton, sont bien tolérées par plus de 90 % des enfants diagnostiqués avec une allergie aux protéines du lait de vache. Certains nourrissons devront toutefois opter pour des préparations à base d’acides aminés. Comme les préparations peuvent varier d’une marque à l’autre en termes de coût, de format disponible, d’ingrédients, de valeur nutritive et de goût, il est primordial de discuter avec les parents de l’enfant allergique afin de leur fournir une prescription qui répondra à leurs besoins.

4. Dans le cadre d’un régime d’éviction chez la maman qui allaite, on doit retirer d’emblée les traces de lait lorsque le nourrisson reçoit un diagnostic d’allergie à la protéine du lait de vache non induite par les IgE. VRAI ou FAUX

FAUX : Lors d’un régime d’éviction chez la maman qui allaite un nourrisson allergique aux protéines du lait de vache (allergie non induite par les IgE), la première étape consiste habituellement à retirer les « sources concentrées » de lait dans l’alimentation de la mère allaitante, pour une durée de 2 à 4 semaines. S’il n’y a aucun changement ou si une amélioration partielle est notée, le professionnel de la santé pourra suggérer le retrait des protéines de soya, en plus de celles du lait, ou encore le retrait des traces de lait et des traces de soya de l’alimentation de la mère. Chez plusieurs nourrissons, le retrait des « sources concentrées » de lait* peut être suffisant pour noter une amélioration des symptômes. Pour confirmer le diagnostic, le professionnel de la santé pourra également recommander la réintégration des allergènes retirés de l’alimentation de la mère.

* Lors du retrait du lait, on suggère d’éviter de remplacer tous les produits laitiers habituels par des produits de soya, car le nourrisson pourrait réagir à une augmentation soudaine de la consommation de soya.                                                                                              

5. Bien que peu de données existent sur le sujet, les probiotiques pourraient être bénéfiques pour les enfants présentant une allergie aux protéines du lait de vache. VRAI ou FAUX

VRAI : Dans son plus récent document de principes sur le sujet, la Société canadienne de pédiatrie nous informe que les données sont actuellement insuffisantes pour recommander la prise de probiotiques chez les enfants présentant une allergie aux protéines du lait de vache. Toutefois, certaines études montreraient un avantage potentiel à leur utilisation. Par exemple, deux études randomisées et contrôlées1,2 et une méta-analyse3 ont démontré que les jeunes enfants ayant reçu des préparations contenant des suppléments de L. rhamnosus GG devenaient tolérants aux protéines du lait de vache plus rapidement que ceux qui consommaient une préparation sans suppléments. Une discussion avec le professionnel de la santé permettra aux parents du jeune enfant allergique aux protéines du lait de vache de prendre une décision éclairée sur la pertinence des probiotiques dans leur cas particulier.

  • Berni Canani R, Di Costanzo M, Bedogni G, Amoroso A, Cosenza L, Di Scala C, Granata V, Nocerino R. Extensively hydrolyzed casein formula containing Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG reduces the occurrence of other allergic manifestations in children with cow’s milk allergy: 3-year randomized controlled trial. J Allergy Clin Immunol. 2017 Jun;139(6):1906-1913.e4. doi: 10.1016/j.jaci.2016.10.050. Epub 2016 Dec 30. PMID: 28043872.
  • Berni Canani R, Nocerino R, Terrin G, et al. Effect of Lactobacillus GG on tolerance acquisition in infants with cow’s milk allergy: a randomized trial. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2012;129:580–2582.e1-5.
  • Qamer S, Deshmukh M, Patole S. Probiotics for cow’s milk protein allergy: a systematic review of randomized controlled trials. Eur J Pediatr. 2019 Aug;178(8):1139-1149. doi: 10.1007/s00431-019-03397-6. Epub 2019 Jun 22. PMID: 31230196.

Ressources pour les professionnels de la santé

Des outils pour soutenir vos patients et parfaire vos connaissances sur les allergies alimentaires